Skip directly to content

Mita Dasog wins 2014 AGWIC for outstanding doctoral dissertation

Award for Graduate Work in Inorganic Chemistry
year awarded: 
Mita Dasog
University of Alberta

The CSC Inorganic Division is pleased to announce the outstanding recipient of the 2014 Award for Graduate Work in Inorganic Chemistry. This award is presented to a graduate student registered in a Ph.D. program at a Canadian university, for exceptional Ph.D. thesis research in a field of inorganic chemistry. This year’s winner is Mita Dasog of the University of Alberta.

Biographical Sketch

Mita Dasog completed her undergraduate studies at the University of Saskatchewan, conducting undergraduate research on the chemistry of noble metal nanoparticles with Dr. Robert Scott. Upon completion of her B. Sc. in chemistry in 2009, she moved to the University of Alberta in Edmonton to obtain her Ph. D. under the supervision of Dr. Jonathan Veinot, working in the area of silicon-based nanomaterials. Ms. Dasog has published over 17 peer reviewed papers and has won numerous awards, including an NSERC PDF, NSERC CGS-D, the Alberta Innovates Graduate Student Award, two Killam Awards, and the President’s Doctoral Prize of Distinction. She was recently chosen as one of the top 25 young scientists from around the world in the “Green Talents International Forum for High Potentials in Sustainable Development,” sponsored by the German Federal Ministry. As a part of this award she will be spending the summer in Germany investigating CO2 sequestration and metal-free ethylene polymerization.