Skip directly to content

Mike Wolf wins Rio Tinto Alcan Award

Rio Tinto Alcan Award
year awarded: 
Michael O. Wolf
The University of British Columbia

The winner of the 2016 Rio Tinto Alcan Awward is Professor Micheal O. Wolf from the University of British Columiba. His group has contributed to the fields of conjugated polymers and materials, the photochemistry and photophysics of conjugated materials and coordination complexes, and the synthesis and applications of modified nanomaterials. He served as the director of the Laboratory of Advanced Spectroscopy and Imaging Research (LASIR) at UBC, and is the UBC lead of the Prometheus Project, BC's Multi-Institution Advanced Materials Science and Engineering Initiative. He has served as the chair of the Inorganic Division of the CSC, as well as the director for Subject Divisions on the CSC Board, and is on the editorial board of ACS Applied Materials and Interfaces. He won a UBC Killam Research Prize in 2003, the CSC Award for Pure and Applied Inorganic Chemistry in 2004, and was elected a Fellow of the CIC in 2015.